Prof. Hans-Jörg Fecht

Current Position

Scientific Vita

1975 - 1981

Studies of Applied Physics
Diploma Thesis in Materials Science

Saarland University, Saarbrücken, Germany


Dr.rer.nat. / Ph.D. in Materials Science
Thesis Advisor: Prof. H. Gleiter

Saarland University, Saarbrücken, Germany

1984 - 1987 Post-Doctoral Research Associate

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

1987Habilitation (equivalent)
1987 - 1990Senior Research Associate

Department of Materials Science
California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA

1990 - 1993Professor of Metal Physics (C-3)

University of Augsburg, Germany

1993 - 1997Chaired Professor of Materials Science

Technical University Berlin, Germany

1997 - 
Chaired Professor of Materials Science and Engineering (C-4)

Director Institute of Micro and Nanomaterials
University of Ulm, Germany

2001 - 2012

Senior Scientist

Institute of Nanotechnology (INT)
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology KIT, Germany

2015 - Director EUREKA Cluster office "Metallurgy Europe"

Preise, Auszeichnungen & Aktivitäten

  • 2015: EUREKA Cluster Metallurgy Europe Office Director
  • 2014: Member editorial board of the journal "npi Microgravity" of Nature Publishing Group
  • 2014: Associate editor International Journal of Theoretical and applied Nanotechnology (IJTAN)
  • 2014: Regional editor American Journal of Nanotechnology
  • 2014: Editorial Board Annals of Materials Science and Engineering
  • 2013: European editor, Journal of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology JNN
  • 2013: Elected member, European Academy of Sciences and Arts, Salzburg, Austria
  • 2012: Visiting Professor, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
  • 2011: Honorary Professor, Hefei University of Technology, Hefei, China
  • 2010: Member of "Materials Science and Engineering Expert Committee (MatSEEC)", European Science Foundation (ESF)
  • 2009: Panel chair of JOM R. Mehl award, TMS, USA
  • 2009: Panel Chair Materials Science of ESSC at European Science Foundation ESF
  • 2008: Adjunct Professor World Premier Institute, Tohoku Univ. Sendai, Japan
  • 2007: Co-Chairman Science Council EML / ESA
  • 2007: Overseas Professor, Anna University Chennai, India
  • 2006: Member of Board ESF European Space Council
  • 2005: Head of Nanomaterials activity of DGM
  • 2004: Innovationspreis des VDI
  • 2003: Pioneer of Nanotechnology (Deutsche Bank AG)
  • 1998: G.W. Leibniz-Award (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG)
  • 1993-1997: Speaker of the Materials Science Laboratory of Deutsche
    Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG on "High Temperature Materials for Turbine Engines"
  • 1984: Fellow of Max-Kade-Gesellschaft (New York)

Chairman of several workshops and conferences, Member of International Advisory Committees of conferences, seminar series and journals on surface
engineering, nanomaterials and advanced materials


nach Vereinbarung