The Faculty of Natural Sciences at Ulm University comprises three departments: Biology, Chemistry and Physics. In their research, these three departments explore the fundamentals of animate and inanimate matter so as to develop understanding of how the laws governing these sciences interact. Although each of the three departments has its own research profile, they are closely cross-linked in research and teaching. In addition, a wide range of cooperative activities are undertaken with groups from other faculties.

The Faculty currently focuses on the following main research areas:

It goes without saying that the above are just some of the research projects undertaken in the Faculty. To find out more, please visit the individual institutes’ websites.