Office Hours

With appointment.

Dr. Andreas Steigmiller

Since March 2018 I work as postdoctoral researcher in the DFG project “Conjunctive Query Answering for Expressive Description Logics”. Before that, I did my PhD here at the University of Ulm and I also obtained some helpful experience and skills in the industry since then.

My main research interests are logic-based knowledge representation and automated reasoning. In particular, I optimise reasoning procedures and systems for more expressive Description Logics, which are often the foundation of well-known knowledge representation languages such as OWL. A result of my work is also the reasoning system Konclude, which won several awards in international competition due to its good performance.  

Further Information

  • Research Interests

    Logic-based formalisms are often used for knowledge representation since they allow for flexibly modelling an application domain. In addition, automated reasoning allows for making implicit knowledge explicit, which can, for example, be used for gaining new information or for checking the modelling. Well-known knowledge representation languages, such as the Web Ontology Language (OWL), are based on description logics which have been specifically developed for knowledge representation. More expressive description logics provide more expressive language features to model the application domain in more detail, but they usually also require more sophisticated and often less efficient reasoning procedures.

    During my PhD studies, we developed different algorithms and optimisations that make reasoning for many real-world ontologies on standard reasoning tasks more efficient even if the ontologies use features of more expressive description logics. In particular, we developed different caching methods, new absorption algorithms (i.e., rewriting of axioms in the ontology), and coupling techniques. The latter often enable a simple and very efficient saturation of a big part of the knowledge base such that the slower tableau algorithm has only to be used for few more complicated parts.

    The aim of the current DFG project is the optimisation of answering conjunctive queries for more expressive description logics. Although conjunctive queries are a foundational element of more comprehensive query languages such as SPARQL, most SPARQL engines do not consider anonymous individuals (together with other more expressive language features) and, therefore, may not determine all possible results. By developing appropriate absorption techniques, we plan to obtain a query answering apporach that is reasonably efficient for real-world ontologies despite considering the features of more expressive description logics.

  • Projects

    I currently work in the DFG project “Conjunctive Query Answering for Expressive Description Logics”.

  • Software

    A result of my PhD studies is the reasoning system Konclude, which won several awards in international competitions due to its performance. As part of my current work, I will continue the development of Konclude, especially by integrating different algorithms and optimisations for answering conjunctive queries.

    I also developed a framework for evaluating OWL reasoners (ORE Competition Framework), which has been used for different competitions and evaluations.

Sprechstunde

Nach Vereinbarung.

Dr. Andreas Steigmiller

Seit März 2018 arbeite ich als akademischer Mitarbeiter in dem DFG Projekt „Beantwortung Konjunktiver Anfragen für Ausdrucksstarke Beschreibungslogiken“. Zuvor habe ich an der Universität Ulm promoviert und anschließend auch einige hilfreiche Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse in der Industrie gesammelt.

Hauptsächlich beschäftige ich mich mit der logikbasierten Wissensrepräsentation und dem automatischen Schlussfolgern. Insbesondere optimiere ich Schlussfolgerungsprozeduren und -systeme für ausdrucksstärkere Beschreibungslogiken, welche häufig die Grundlage von bekannten Wissensrepräsentationssprachen (z.B. OWL) darstellen. Ein Ergebnis meiner Arbeiten ist auch das Schlussfolgerungssystems Konclude, welches aufgrund der guten Performance mehrere Preise in internationalen Wettbewerben gewinnen konnte.

Weitere Information

  • Forschung

    Zur Wissensrepräsentation werden häufig logikbasierte Formalismen verwendet, da diese eine flexible Modellierung der Anwendungsdomäne erlauben. Zudem können durch automatisches Schlussfolgern implizite Zusammenhänge explizit gemacht werden können, was sich zum Beispiel für das Gewinnen neuer Erkenntnisse und das Überprüfen der Modellierung einsetzen lässt. Bekannte Wissensrepräsentationssprachen, wie beispielsweise die Web Ontology Language (OWL), basieren häufig auf Beschreibungslogiken, welche speziell zur Wissensrepräsentation entwickelt wurden. Ausdrucksstärkere Beschreibungslogiken stellen umfangreichere Sprachkonstrukte bereit, um die Anwendungsdomäne genauer modellieren zu können, benötigen dann aber oftmals aufwendigere und weniger effiziente Schlussfolgerungsalgorithmen.

    Während meiner Promotion habe wir verschiedene Algorithmen und Optimierungen entwickelt, mit denen auch das Schlussfolgern mit ausdrucksstärkeren Beschreibungslogiken zu Standardfragestellungen für viele praktische Wissensbasen effizient durchgeführt werden kann und im Vergleich zu aktuellen Systemen häufig eine deutliche Verbesserung darstellt. Unter anderem handelt es sich dabei um verschiedene Cachingverfahren, neue Absorbierungsansätze (d.h. Umschreiben von Axiomen in der Wissensbasis) und Kopplungstechniken von Tableau und Saturierungsverfahren, womit häufig ein Großteil einer Wissensbasis sehr effizient mit einer einfachen Saturierung behandelt werden kann und dann nur für den schwierigeren Teil auf den aufwendigeren Tableau-Algorithmus zurückgegriffen werden muss.

    Das Ziel des DFG Projekts ist es nun, auch die Beantwortung von komplexeren Fragestellungen in Form von konjunktiven Anfragen für ausdrucksstärkere Beschreibungslogiken zu optimieren. Solche konjunktiven Anfragen sind zwar grundlegender Bestandteil von umfangreicheren Abfragesprachen wie SPARQL, allerdings beachten die meisten Beantwortung- und Behandlungsansätze für SPARQL keine anonyme Individuen von ausdrucksstärkeren Beschreibungslogiken (zusammen mit anderen ausdrucksstärkeren Sprachkonstrukten) und liefern somit nicht immer alle möglichen Antworten. Mit der Entwicklung von speziellen Absorbierungsverfahren wollen wir die Beantwortung von konjunktiven Anfragen trotz der Berücksichtigung von anonymen Individuen hinreichend effizient für die Praxis bekommen.

  • Projekte

  • Software

    Während meiner Promotion ist das Schlussfolgerungssystem Konclude entstanden, welches sich durch seine hohe Performance auszeichnet. Im Rahmen meiner aktuellen Arbeit werde ich an Konclude als Hauptentwickler weiterarbeiten und insbesondere verschiedene Algorithmen und Optimierungen für die Behandelung von konjunktiven Abfragen integrieren.

    Ich habe auch ein Framework für die Evaluierung von OWL Schlussfolgerungssystemen entwickelt (ORE Completition Framework), welches für verschiedene Wettbewerbe eingesetzt wurde.

Publikationen

Präferenzen

Zeige Schlüsselwörter Zeige Zusammenfassung

2013

5.
pdf
Steigmiller, Andreas; Glimm, Birte; Liebig, Thorsten
Extending Absorption to Nominal Schemas
Proceedings of the 26th International Description Logic Workshop (DL 2013)
Herausgeber: CEUR Workshop Proceedings,
2013

2012

4.
pdf
Steigmiller, Andreas; Liebig, Thorsten; Glimm, Birte
Extended Caching and Backjumping for Expressive Description Logics
Proceedings of the 25th International Description Logic Workshop (DL 2012) Band 846 aus CEUR Workshop Proceedings
Juni 2012
3.
pdf
Steigmiller, Andreas; Liebig, Thorsten; Glimm, Birte
Extended Caching, Backjumping and Merging for Expressive Description Logics
Proceedings of the 6th International Joint Conference on Automated Reasoning (IJCAR 2012) Band 7364 aus Lecture Notes in Computer Science , Seite 514-529.
Juni 2012
2.
pdf
Steigmiller, Andreas; Liebig, Thorsten; Glimm, Birte
Extended Caching, Backjumping and Merging for Expressive Description Logics
Dokument Nummer: TR-2012-01
University of Ulm,
2012

2010

1.
pdf
Liebig, Thorsten; Steigmiller, Andreas; Noppens, Olaf
Scalability via Parallelization of OWL Reasoning
Proceedings of the 4th International Workshop on New Forms of Reasoning for the Semantic Web: Scalable and Dynamic (NeFoRS 2010)
2010
Export als: BibTeX, XML