Somato-Psychology: Psychooncology, Psychocardiology, Psychodiabetology, Psychological Pain Research

Research on psychological aspects of physical diseases - somato-psychology - deals with the complex interaction of physical diseases and psychological processes, both in the co-treatment of physical diseases (e.g. self-management, self-efficacy, motivation, placebo effects, lifestyle interventions) and in the research of somato-mental comorbidities (e.g. depression and anxiety in diabetes, cancer or heart disease). In this context, the department focuses on psychooncology, psychocardiology, psychodiabetology and psychological pain research.

E/M-Behavioral Health Interventions and Chronic Physical Diseases

Internet- and mobile-based psycho-social interventions (IMIs) might be a mean to the improvement of somatic health care. The department investigates the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness, acceptance and utility as well as mechanisms of change of E/M-Behavioral Health interventions. The focus is on therapeutically guided as well as unguided self-help interventions, the combination of on-site health care with digital appliations ("blended-care") as well as the development and examination of innovative E/M health approaches. In the context of physical illnesses, research aims to investigate behavioral interventions 1) for the accompanying treatment of physical illnesses (e.g. self-management, drug adherence, pain coping, motivational approaches), 2) for the improvement of health behavior (e.g. physical activity, substance consumption, stress) and 3) for the prevention and treatment of comorbid mental disorders. For an in-depth overview of the topic, see Internet-Based Interventions in Chronic Somatic Disease.

Web-based test systems, Computer-Adaptive Testing (CAT), RehaCAT and Item-Response-Theory

A comprehensive psychodiagnostic process should be the subject of every treatment planning in mental and behavioural health. The non-standardized clinical interview has long been recognized as an unreliable source for decision making. Patient-reported outcomes (PROs), recorded using self-assessment scales, provide an economical and potentially reliable and valid basis for the assessment of PROs. The department's research aims to improve psychodiagnostic possibilities, e.g. in the context of the development of test procedures based on item-response theory, the development, implementation and evaluation of innovative digital (Computer-adaptive) test procedures as well as the evaluation of such test systems implemented into routine care.

RehaCAT+

The aim of this BMBF-funded multi-centre project is to investigate the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of RehaCAT+, a web-based test system expanded to include treatment recommendations and documentation aids for depression and anxiety, in comparison to the standard diagnostic system consisting of RehaCAT without individualised recommendations (https://rehacat.de). The project will take place in two of the most common indication areas of somatic rehabilitation, orthopaedic and cardiological rehabilitation. For further information see the project outline "RehaCAT+".

RehaCAT-Transfer

Aim of this transfer project is to implement, evaluate and validate the computer-aided diagnostic system RehaCAT for recording functional health in the orthopedic and cardiological rehabilitation.

For further information see the project outline "RehaCAT-Transfer".

Epidemiology, Diagnostics and Treatment of Mental Disorders in Chronic Physical Diseases

For more than two decades the Department of Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy has examined the connection between mental disorders and physical diseases. In particular, research focuses on epidemiology, nosology and etiology, psychodiagnostics and the treatment of mental disorders in chronic physical diseases.

For further information please see the project outline "Mental disorders in physical diseases".

Somato-Psychologie: Psychoonkologie, Psychokardiologie, Psychodiabetologie, psychologische Schmerzforschung

Die Erforschung psychologischer Aspekte körperlicher Erkrankungen – Somato-Psychologie – befasst sich mit dem komplexen Zusammenspiel körperlicher Erkrankungen und psychischer Prozesse, sowohl in der Mitbehandlung der körperlichen Erkrankungen (z.B. Selbstmanagement, Selbstwirksamkeit, Motivation, Placeboeffekte, Lifestyle-Interventionen) als auch in der Erforschung Somato-Psychischer Komorbiditäten. Hierbei liegt der Schwerpunkt der Abteilung in den Bereichen Psychoonkologie, Psychokardiologie, Psychodiabetologie und psychologische Schmerzforschung.

E/M-Behavioral Health Interventionen und körperliche Erkrankungen

Internet- und Mobile-basierte Interventionen (IMIs) können als ort- und zeitunabhängige Angebote dazu beitragen, die psychotherapeutische Versorgung zu verbessern. Die Abteilung untersucht die Wirksamkeit und Kosten-Effektivität, Akzeptanz und Inanspruchnahme sowie zugrundeliegende Wirkfaktoren von E/M-Behavioral-Health Interventionen. Im Fokus stehen therapeutisch begleitete und unbegleitete Selbsthilfeinterventionen, die Kombination klassischer Psychotherapien mit Online-Angeboten ("blended-therapy") sowie die Entwicklung und Erforschung neuer E/M-Health-Ansätze. Im Kontext körperlicher Erkrankungen zielt die Forschung auf die Untersuchung von behavioralen Interventionen 1) zur Begleitbehandlung körperlicher Erkrankungen (z.B. Selbsmanagement, Medikamentenadhärenz, Schmerz-Coping, Motivationale Ansätze), 2) zur Verbesserung des Gesundheitsverhaltens (z.B. körperliche Aktivität, Substanzkonsum, Stress) sowie 3) zur Prävention und Behandlung komorbider psychischer Störungen. Für einen vertieften Überblick zur Thematik siehe Internet-Based Interventions in Chronic Somatic Disease.

Web-basierte Testsysteme, Computer-Adaptives Testen, RehaCAT und Item-Response-Theorie

Eine umfassende Diagnostik sollte Gegenstand jeder Indikationsstellung und Behandlungsplanung sein. Das nicht-standardisierte klinische Gespräch gilt hierbei längst als eine wenig verlässliche Grundlage zur Urteilsbildung. Patienten-berichtete Outcomes, erfasst mittels Selbstbeurteilungsskalen, bilden eine zielführende, ökomische und potentiell reliable und valide Grundlage. Die in der klinischen Praxis immer noch vorzufindende Paper-Pencil-Lösung schöpft viele Vorteile einer digital gestützten Psychodiagnostik nicht aus. Die Abteilung verfolgt mit Ihrer Forschung die Verbesserung psychodiagnostischer Möglichkeiten, z.B. im Rahmen der Weiterentwicklung von Testverfahren basierend auf der Item-Response-Theorie, der Entwicklung, Implementierung und Evaluation innovativer digitaler (Computer-adativer-) Testverfahren sowie der versorgungsnahen Untersuchung zielführender Implementierungsmodelle.

RehaCAT+

Ziel dieses BMBF geförderten multizentrischen Drittmittelprojektes ist die Untersuchung der Wirksamkeit- und Kosten-Effektivität von RehaCAT+, einem um Handlungsempfehlungen und Dokumentationshilfen bei Depression und Angst erweiterten Web-basierten Testsystems im Vergleich zur Standarddiagnostik bestehend aus RehaCAT ohne systemhinterlegte, individualisierte Empfehlungen. Das Projekt erfolgt beispielhaft in zwei der häufigsten Indikationsgebiete der somatischen Rehabilitation, der orthopädischen und der kardiologischen Rehabilitation. Weitere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Projektskizze "RehaCAT+".

RehaCAT-Transfer

Ziel dieses Transferprojektes ist die Implementierung und Evaluation des computergestützten Diagnostiksystems RehaCAT zur Erfassung der funktionalen Gesundheit in der orthopädischen und kardiologischen Rehabilitation sowie dessen weitere Validierung.

Weitere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Projektskizze "RehaCAT-Transfer".

Epidemiologie, Diagnostik und Behandlung psychischer Störungen bei körperlichen Erkrankungen

Seit über zwei Jahrzehnten befasst sich die Abteilung für Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie mit dem Zusammenhang zwischen psychischen Störungen und körperlichen Erkrankungen. Hierbei stehen insbesondere Fragestellungen zur Epidemiologie, Nosologie und Ätiologie, zur Psychodiagnostik sowie zur Behandlung psychischer Störungen bei vorliegenden körperlichen Erkrankungen im Fokus der Forschung.

Weitere Informationen entnehmen Sie bitte der Projektskizze „Psychische Störungen bei körperlichen Erkrankungen“.