The Humboldt Professorship

The Humboldt Professorship, which was initially established with a generous financial contribution from entrepreneurs in the city and the region, is awarded to prominent scientists and scholars. It was incorporated into the state budget in 1997. In addition to the Ulmer Denkanstößen, the Humboldt Professorship forms the bridge between the university and the city. Its holders deal with current topics on the intellectual situation of our time for two days each in the "Stadthaus Lectures" before a city audience and before invited guests in the "Philosophical Salon".

The former Humboldt professorships are listed here.

WS 2021/22
Heinrich Detering

WS 2018/19
Dr. Ulla Hahn

WS 2017/18
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schlink, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

WS 2015/16
Prof. Dr. Dr. hc. mult. Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht, Stanford University

WS 2011/12
Prof. Dr. Horst-Jürgen Gerigk, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

SS 2010
Prof. Dr. Peter Bieri, Freie Universität Berlin

SS 2003
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Welsch, Universität Jena

WS 2002/03
Prof. Dr. Pöppel, LMU München

WS 2001/02
Prof. Dr. Henning Ottmann, LMU München

SS 2000:
Prof. Dr. Dr. Ernst Wolfgang Böckeförde, Freiburg

WS 1999/2000:
Prof. Dr. Norbert Bolz, Universität /GH Essen

WS 1998/99:
Prof. Dr. Paul Ricoeur, Paris

SS 1998:
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Waldenfels, Ruhr-Universität Bochum

WS 1997/98:
Prof. Dr. Jörn Rüsen, Präsident des Kulturwissenschaftlichen Instituts im Wissenschaftszentrum Nordrhein-Westfalen, Essen

SS 1997:
Prof. Dr. Hermann Lübbe, Universität Zürich

WS 1996/97:
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Annemarie Schimmel, Universität Bonn

SS 1996:
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Mittelstraß, Universität Konstanz
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Hans Küng, Universität Tübingen

WS 1995/96:
Prof. Dr. Vittorio Hösle, University of Notre Dame, South Bend, USA

SS 1995:
Prof. Dr. Manfred Eigen, Max-Planck-Institut Göttingen
Prof. Dr. D. Otto Kaiser, Universität Marburg

WS 1994/95:
Prof. Dr. Ernst-Wolfgang Orth, Universität Trier
Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker, Wuppertal-Institut
Prof. Dr. Ivan Illich, Pennsylvania State University / Uni Bremen