Huge success for trauma research: Ulm receives 73 Mio. € grant for a new research building! 

Proudly presented model of the new research building. From left: President Weber, Vice Founding Director Ignatius, Director of Planning Department Ulm Lindenthal, Founding Director Huber-Lang, Dean of teh Medical Faculty Wirth (Photo: L. Dürselen)

Construction progress of MTW building

Construction progress until 15.12.2020 in fast motion

Institute of Orthopaedic Research and Biomechanics

Welcome on our web pages!

The overall goal of our research activities at the Institute of Orthopaedic Research and Biomechanics is to better understand the pathomechanisms of degeneration and diseases of the musculoskeletal system, and to improve or develop novel therapeutical strategies. We rely on a strong interdisciplinary interaction and a broad innovative spectrum of methods to perform high quality research.

The institute is member of the following research consortia:

Centre for Trauma Research Ulm
CRC Collaborative Research Centre 1149
Civil-Military Network Regenerative Medicine
We also cooperate with the  German Trauma Foundation.

The institute video

Movie about the institute and its research


Univ. Prof. Dr. Anita Ignatius

Angelika Reindl
Brigitte Siegel
Tel. +49 731 500-55301
Fax +49 731 500-55302


Institute of Orthopaedic Research and Biomechanics
Centre for Trauma Research Ulm
Ulm University Medical Centre
Helmholtzstraße 14
D-89081 Ulm

Phone directory

  • Pull down here

    Prefix number: +49 731 500- 
    Secretary: -55301

    Baum, Iris 55323
    Böhmler, Andrea 55344
    de Roy, Luisa 55325
    Fischer, Verena 55324
    Galbusera, Fabio 55317, 55342
    Haffner-Luntzer, Melanie 55329
    Hauff, Kristin 55325
    Herde, Bettina 55323
    Horny, Patrizia 55327
    Ignatius, Anita 55301
    Jonas, René 55349
    Karremann, Kristina 55344
    Krüger, Benjamin 55348
    Küppers, Oliver 55352
    Liebsch, Christian 55325
    Liedert, Astrid 55333
    Neidlinger-Wilke, Cornelia 55319
    Niemeyer, Frank 55326
    Ohmayer, Werner 55311
    Ragipoglu, Deniz 55325
    Ramge, Jan-Moritz 55328
    Reindl, Angelika 55301
    Schlager, Benedikt 55349
    Schröter, Lena 55348
    Schwer, Jonas 55329
    Seitz, Andreas 55333
    Siegel, Brigitte 55311
    Steppe, Lena 55351
    Sukopp, Matthias 55312
    Teixeira, Graciosa 55324
    Tomo, Marion 55344
    Tschaffon, Miriam 55351
    Vogt, Morten 55328
    Warnecke, Daniela 55326
    Wehrstein, Jasmin 55312
    Werner, Karin 55317
    Wilke, Hans-Joachim 55320
    Zengerle, Laura 55326