The Institute of Pharmaceutical Biotechnology


At our institute we combine structural biology (mainly X-ray crystallography), biophysical approaches, and biochemistry with cell biology to allow for an integrated research approach.

Research topics focus on RNA-based gene regulation in eukaryotes (Niessing), structure-guided inhibitor design (Niessing), and various areas of biotechnology, including biomaterials for medical applications and recombinant biosurfactants for a growing bioeconomy (Rosenau). For more details, please visit the groups subpages under the RESEARCH pulldown menue.


Watch our video with lab impressions from our research on PURA syndrome


Recent Publications

Molitor M.*, Bacher S.*, Burczyk S.*, Niessing D
The molecular function of PURA and its implications in neurological diseases.
Frontiers in Genetics (2021)

Yan Wang,  Dennis Kubiczek,  Felix Horlamus,  Heinz Fabian Raber,  Till Hennecke,  Daniel Einfalt,  Marius Henkel,  Rudolf Hausmann,  Andreas Wittgens,  Frank Rosenau
Bioconversion of lignocellulosic to high value food proteins: recombinant production of bovine and human αS1‐casein based on wheat straw lignocelluloses
Global Change Biology (GCB) Bioenergy. (2020) doi:10.1111/gcbb.12791

Heinz Fabian Raber, Thomas Heerde, Suzanne Nour El Din, Carolin Flaig, Fabienne Hilgers, Nora Bitzenhofer, Karl-Erich Jäger, Thomas Drepper, Kay-Eberhard Gottschalk, Nicholas Emil Bodenberger, Tanja Weil, Dennis Horst Kubiczek, Frank Rosenau
Azulitox?A Pseudomonas aeruginosa P28-Derived Cancer-Cell-Specific Protein Photosensitizer
Biomacromolecules (2020) doi: 10.1021/acs.biomac.0c01216.

Kubiczek D, Flaig C, Raber H, Dietz S, Kissmann AK, Heerde T, Bodenberger N, Wittgens A, González-Garcia M, Kang F, Franco OL, Staendker L, Otero-González AJ, Walther P, Gottschalk KE, Weil T, Rosenau F.
A Cerberus-Inspired Anti-Infective Multicomponent Gatekeeper Hydrogel against Infections with the Emerging "Superbug" Yeast Candida auris.
Macromol Biosci. (2020) doi:10.1002/mabi.202000005. PubMed PMID: 32104975.

Bator I, Wittgens A, Rosenau F, Tiso T, Blank LM.
Comparison of Three Xylose Pathways in Pseudomonas putida KT2440 for the Synthesis of Valuable Products
Front Bioeng Biotechnol (2020). doi:10.3389/fbioe2019.00480

Heber S, Gáspár I, Tants J.-N, Günther J, Fernandez Moya S, Janowski R, Ephrussi A, Sattler M, Niessing D.
Staufen2-mediated RNA recognition and localization requires combinatorial action of multiple domains.
Nature Commun. (2019).

Vicente FEM, González-Garcia M, Diaz Pico E, Moreno-Castillo E, Garay HE, Rosi PE, Jimenez AM, Campos-Delgado JA, Rivera DG, Chinea G, Pietro RCLR, Stenger S, Spellerberg B, Kubiczek D, Bodenberger N, Dietz S, Rosenau F, Paixão MW, Ständker L, Otero-González AJ.
Design of a Helical-Stabilized, Cyclic, and Nontoxic Analogue of the Peptide Cm-p5 with Improved Antifungal Activity.
ACS Omega. (2019) 4(21):19081-19095. doi: 10.1021/acsomega.9b02201. eCollection 2019 Nov 19. PubMed PMID: 31763531; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC6868880.

Rehage, N. et al. Binding of NUFIP2 to Roquin promotes recognition  and regulation of ICOS mRNA.
Nat. Commun. (2018)

The DFG Research Unit FOR2333 " consists of seven German-wide teams (speaker: Ulm University).


The DFG Priority Program SPP1935 aims at understanding RNA-bound determinants of posttranscriptional gene regulation.