Institute of Comparative Molecular Endocrinology

The Institute of Comparative Molecular Endocrinology is the only zoological institute with an endocrinological focus in Germany to investigate the hormonal control mechanisms in stress, environmental and aging-related diseases with a focus on the immune system,metabolism and bone integrity, the and modification of the function of RAS GTPases.

As part of the teaching of the Department of Biology (Natural Science Faculty) and the Faculty of Medicine, we impart basic knowledge of molecular and cell biology as well as physiology and endocrinology and introduce students to current research issues.

News

Poster Award, 3rd Nuclear Receptors Conference

Click here for the poster: "Glucocorticoids coordinate macrophage metabolism through the regulation of the tricarboxylic acid cycle"

The oncogene RAS is often found in non-small cell lung tumors or other types of cancer. This "cancer gene" fuels tumor growth and, until now, could not be specifically switched off. However, researchers at the University of Ulm have now discovered a new function of the so-called glucocorticoid receptor: In interaction with RAS proteins on the cytoplasmic side of the cell membrane, the receptor can slow down tumor growth. The road to concrete therapeutic approaches is still long, but the study has already made it onto the cover of the scientific journal "Science Signaling".

 

Director

Photo Director Prof. Dr. Jan Tuckermann

Prof. Dr. Jan Tuckermann
Phone: +49 731 50 32600
Fax: +49 731 50 32609
Helmholtzstr. 8/1
Room: 3.34

follow on Twitter @JanTuckermann

Student office hours:
every tuesday from
04:00 pm - 05:00 pm

Vice Director

Photo Deputy Director Prof. PD Maja Vujic´Spasic´, PhD

Secretariat

Sybille Smith
Phone: +49 731 50 32601
Fax.: +49 731 50 32609
Helmholtzstr. 8/1
Room: 3.33

Student office hours:
Monday + Wednesday
09:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
 

Address

Ulm University 
Institute of Comparative Molecular Endocrinology
Helmholtzstrasse 8/1
89081 Ulm
Germany

GOOGLE-MAP

Photo Entrance Area Centre for Biomedical Research

Institut für Molekulare Endokrinologie der Tiere

Das Institut für Molekulare Endokrinologie der Tiere untersucht als einziges zoologisches Institut mit endokrinologischer Ausrichtung in Deutschand die  hormonellen Kontrollmechanismen bei Stress-, Umwelt- und Alterungs-bedingten Erkrankungen mit Fokus auf auf das Immunsystem, den Metabolismus und die Knochenintegrität, der und Veränderung der Funktion von RAS GTPasen.

Im Rahmen der Lehre des Fachbereichs Biologie sowie der medizinischen Fakultät vermitteln wir grundlegendes Wissen zur Molekular- und Zellbiologie sowie zur Physiologie und Endokrinologie und führen Studierende an aktuelle Fragen der Forschung heran.

Nachrichten

In nicht-kleinzelligen Lungentumoren oder anderen Krebsarten findet sich oftmals das Onkogen RAS. Dieses „Krebs-Gen“ befeuert das Tumorwachstum und lässt sich bislang nicht gezielt ausschalten. Doch nun haben Forschende der Universität Ulm eine neue Funktion des so genannten Glucocorticoid-Rezeptors entdeckt: Im Zusammenspiel mit RAS-Proteinen auf der zytoplasmatischen Seite der Zellmembran kann der Rezeptor das Tumorwachstum ausbremsen. Der Weg zu konkreten therapeutischen Ansätzen ist noch weit, doch schon jetzt hat es die Studie auf den Titel des Fachjournals „Science Signaling“ geschafft.

Direktor

Foto Direktor Prof. Dr. Jan Tuckermann

Prof. Dr. Jan Tuckermann
Tel: +49 731 50 32600
Fax: +49 731 50 32609
Helmholtzstr. 8/1
Raum: 3.34

follow on Twitter @JanTuckermann

Sprechzeiten für Studenten:
jeden Dienstag von
16:00 - 17:00 Uhr

Stellv. Direktorin

Foto stellvertretende Direktorin Prof. PD Maja Vujic´Spasic´, PhD

Sekretariat

Sybille Smith
Tel: +49 731 50 32601
Fax.: +49 731 50 32609
Helmholtzstr. 8/1
Raum: 3.33

Sprechzeiten für Studenten:
Mi. + Fr.  09:00 - 12:00



 

 

Anschrift

Universität Ulm
Institut für Molekulare Endokrinologie der Tiere
Helmholtzstr. 8/1
89081 Ulm

GOOGLE-MAP

Foto Eingangsbereich Zentrum für Biomedizinische Forschung