International Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Prize

In memoriam of Barbara Mez-Starck the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Foundation (Freiburg) annually awards a prize for outstanding contributions in the field of experimental structural chemistry and molecular physics including mainly electron diffraction, microwave and high-resolution infrared spectroscopy. The prize consists of one to five thousand Euros. A group of eminent workers in the field are asked for nominations.

The Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck-Prize 2019 was awarded to Prof. Anatoly A. Ischenko (middle). The laudatory speech was given by Dr. habil. Natalja Vogt (right); the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck-Foundation was represented by Dr. Jürgen Vogt (left).

The following colleagues are awarded:

  • 2019: Prof. Dr. Anatoly A. Ischenko

    Prof. Dr. Anatoly A. Ischenko, Russian Technological University (Moscow), was awarded for his pioneering studies on the the time-resolved electron diffraction.

  • 2018: Prof. Dr. Alberto Lesarri and Prof. Dr. Emilio J. Cocinero

    Prof. Dr. Alberto Lesarri, Universidad de Valladolid, and Prof. Dr. Emilio J. Cocinero, Universidad del Pais Vasco (Bilbao), were awarded for their extensive investigations of conformational behaviours and precise molecular structures of aminoacids, sugars, alkaloids, anesthetics and nicotinoids.

  • 2017: not awarded

  • 2016: Prof. Dr. Michael C. McCarthy

    Prof. Dr. Michael C. McCarthy, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA, was awarded for his microwave spectroscopic studies of reactive molecular intermediates, especially for his investigations on molecular cations and anions.

  • 2015: Prof. Dr. Heinz Oberhammer and Prof. Dr. Lucy M. Ziurys

    Prof. Dr. Heinz Oberhammer, Eberhard-Karls-University of Tübingen, was awarded for his comprehensive gas-phase electron diffraction studies, especially for his structure determinations of fluorides, peroxides, phosphorus and iminosulfur compounds.
    Prof. Dr. Lucy M. Ziurys, University of Arizona, Tucson, was awarded for her microwave spectroskopic studies of transition metal compounds in high spin states a well as for her laboratory investigations with interplay with astrophysics, astrochemistry, and astrobiology.

  • 2014: Prof. Dr. Yunjie Xu

    Prof. Dr. Yunjie Xu, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, was awarded for her investigations of molecular structures of conformers by microwave and high-resolution infrared spectroscopy, especially for the spectroscopic characterization of chiral recognition.

  • 2013: not awarded

    not awarded

  • 2012: Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Jäger

    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Jäger, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, was awarded for his investigations of doped hydrogen clusters and small molecules in superfluid helium nanodroplets by means of microwave and high-resolution infrared spectroscopy.
    (see also: ChemPhysChem)

  • 2011: Prof. Dr. Lev. V. Vilkov and Prof. Dr. Georgiy V. Girichev

    Prof. Dr. Lev. V. Vilkov, M. V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, and Prof. Dr. Georgiy V. Girichev, Ivanovo State University of Chemistry and Technology, Russia.
    Prof. Vilkov was posthumously awarded for his pioneering studies in gas phase electron diffraction and his investigations of structural chemical variations among extended classes of organic compounds.

    Prof. Girichev was awarded for his structure determinations of inorganic and organometallic compounds by means of combined gas phase electron diffraction and mass spectrometry especially at high temperatures.

  • 2010: Prof. Dr. James E. Boggs and Prof. Dr. Harald Møllendal

    Prof. Dr. James E. Boggs, The University of Texas at Austin, USA and Prof. Dr. Harald Møllendal, University of Oslo, Norge. (see also: ChemPhysChem)
    Prof. Boggs was awarded for his molecular structure determinations of conformers, for the best possible combined experimental and theoretical equilibrium potentials of small molecules as well as for the organisation of the "Austin Symposium on Molecular Structure" for more than fourty years.
    Prof. Møllendal was awarded for his microwave spectroscopic studies augmented by quantum chemical calculations, his molecular structure determinations of conformers, especially for the intramolecular hydrogen bonding and for his contributions to astrochemistry.

  • 2009: Dr. Jens-Uwe Grabow

    Dr. Jens-Uwe Grabow, Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-University of Hannover, was awarded for his outstanding contributions for the improvements of Fourier transform microwave spectrometers as well as for his investigations of molecular structures and nuclear quadrupole and magnetic hyperfine interactions in molecular spectra.
    (see also: ChemPhysChem)

  • 2008: Dr. Jean Demaison

    Dr. Jean Demaison, Universite de Sciences et de Technologies de Lille Flandres Artois, France, was awarded for his outstanding contributions in the determination of accurate equilibrium structures by combining high quality experimental data from high-resolution molecular spectroscopy in the microwave, millimeter wave and infrared region with high level quantum mechanical calculations.

  • 2007: Prof. Dr. David W. H. Rankin

    Prof. Dr. David W. H. Rankin, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland, was awarded for his studies of unusual compounds such as, polyhedral boranes and carbaboranes, sterically crowded silicon compounds, precursors to solid-state materials, aromatic heterocycles and organometallic compounds.

  • 2006: Prof. Dr. Kozo Kuchitsu

    Prof. Dr. Kozo Kuchitsu, Graduate School of BASE, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Tokyo, for his contributions to the theory of structure determination by means of gas electron diffraction and high resolution molecular spectroscopy.

  • 2005: Prof. Dr. Kenneth Hedberg and Prof. Dr. Heinz-Dieter Rudolph

    • Prof. Hedberg was awarded for, among others, the introduction of the least-squares analysis into gasphase electron diffraction and his contributions to the conformational analysis of organic compounds. He studied very interesting structural effects, such as the planrity of trisilylamine, the pseudolinearity of disilyl ether, the dynamic Jahn-Teller distortion of chromium pentafluoride, and the non-VSEPR geometry of chromyl fluoride. Last but not least, he investigated the gasphase structures of the fullerenes C60, C70, and C60F48.
    • Prof. Dr. Heinz-Dieter Rudolph was awarded for his contributions in high resolution molecular spectroscopy. In order to improve the accuracy of the experimental molecular structure he studied the microwave spectra of as much isotopic species as possible (up to 41 isotopomers per compound). He was one of the first to build a highly sensitive spectrometer with digital averaging, which allows to measure the microwave spectra of isotopic species in natural abundance. He made several important contributions to the theory of the substitution method, particularly by extending the Kraitchman equations.
  • 2004: Prof. Dr. Lawrence S. Bartell

    Prof. Dr. Lawrence S. Bartell, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA) for his outstanding contributions to various aspects of gas-phase electron diffraction theory (among others the introduction of vibrational anharmonicity into the structure analysis)

  • 2003: Prof. Dr. Victor P. Spiridonov

    Prof. Dr. Victor P. Spiridonov, Moscow State University (Russia) for his innovative work in the field of molecular structure determination in terms of potential energy function parameters from electron diffraction.