Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Prizes for the Best Master Graduates

Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Awarding Ceremony

The next Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck award ceremony will take place in 2023. Date and information still to come.

Gallery of prize winners

To encourage outstanding young chemists at the beginning of their career, the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck-Foundation (Freiburg) annualy awards the best master graduates in chemistry at the University of Ulm. The award is named after the founder, who led the Section for Spectra and Structure Documentation (now section Chemical Information Systems) at the University of Ulm, until 1987, and died in May 2001.

Normally up to three graduates will be awarded, who graduated  during the pervious academic year (deadline Sept. 30) within a total period of study of ten semsters (6 semesters of Bachelor plus 4 semesters for Master) and who belong to the best 10% of the academic year. One cannot apply for this prize nor can be nominated by somebody else.

The selected students will receive cash prizes, namely:

  • first prize with 1000,- EURO
  • second prize with 800,- EURO
  • third prize with 600,- EURO

No legal right can be established for this award! Moreover, as in the case of Nobel-prizes there will be no explanation why particular canditates are not awarded.

The awarding ot the prize winners by representatives of the Foundation Board takes place during a special symposium of the chemical institutes or within a similar event.

Award-winners 2020 to 2022

After the price was first awarded in May 2005, the Department of Chemistry, under the chairman  Prof. Max von Delius, awarded it to its best graduates of the academic year 2018/2019 to 2020/2021 on July 2, 2022. The Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck-Foundation (Freiburg) was represented by Dr. Jürgen Vogt (formerly University of Ulm). The special lecture was given by Nobel laureate Prof. Jean-Marie Lehn (University of Strasbourg) entitled „Steps towards life: Chemistry“.

For 2020 there were four prize-winners. Two first prizes were given to Kerstin Köble and Matthias Uhl. Martin Lämmle und Benedikt Bagemihl were awarded with third prizes.

The awardees 2018/2019 Benedikt Bagemihl, Martin Lämmle, Kerstin Köble, and Matthias Uhl (from left to right) with Dr. Jürgen Vogt (left) as representative of the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Foundation. (Foto: Eberhardt)

In 2021 there were one first and three second prizes. Sonja Ehrle received the first prize, whereas Daniel Stottmeister, Teresa Kraus, and Anna Aubele were awarded by the second prize.

The awardees 2019/2020 Daniel Stottmeister, Teresa Kraus, and Anna Aubele (from left to right) with Dr. Jürgen Vogt (left) as representative of the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Foundation. Sonja Ehrle was unable to participate the awarding ceremony (Foto: Eberhardt)

In 2022 the first prize was given to Monja Schilling, whereas Andreas Englert received the second prize. The third prize was given to Philipp Schweigart.

The awardees 2020/2021 Philipp Schweigart and Monja Schilling with Dr. Jürgen Vogt (left) as representative of the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck Foundation. Andeas Englert was absent because of illness (Foto: Eberhardt)