"Molecular and Translational Neuroscience means...

... better understanding the origin and development of diseases, optimizing diagnoses and therapies."

Study Program “Molecular and Translational Neuroscience” (MTN): For Excellence in Diagnostics and Therapy.

MTN is a research-oriented Master's program that offers students a highly qualified education in basic research as well as clinical and therapeutic-oriented neuroscience. The goal of Molecular and Translational Neuroscience is to improve the diagnosis of and therapy for neurological and psychiatric diseases. Neurological and psychiatric diseases include multiple sclerosis, meningitis, stroke, depression, schizophrenia and ADD/ADHD, or typical neurological diseases of old age such as dementia and Parkinson's disease. They cause massive restrictions in the patients' quality of life, sometimes even leading to the complete loss of independent living.

Existing therapies are often not sufficiently effective because the underlying pathomechanisms are not yet understood. Therefore, translational neuroscience sets itself the task of investigating physiological and pathophysiological mechanisms in the adaptation and homeostasis of the nervous system.

Molecular neurobiological questions are given a bridging function between basic cellular and pharmacological research, molecular neurology, behavioral physiology and diagnostic and pharmacological application. The results are translated into precise approaches to innovative therapies and prophylaxis.

Degree
Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Study start
Winter semester: starting Oktober, 1st

Language
English

Credit Points
120 ETCS

Duration
4 Semester

HIGHLIGHTS

Innovative teaching profile

  • "Basic Research to Product": From molecular basics to drugs

  • Clinical trials: Realization of clinical trials by the Clinical Trial Center of the Department of Neurology

  • Wide range of elective courses in coordination with individual specialties

  • Close cooperation with the pharmaceutical industry partner Boehringer Ingelheim: Lecture series/seminars by experts from Boehringer Ingelheim CNS Diseases Research

  • Interdisciplinary education in an international environment

Practice-based teaching

Training in the modern laboratories of Ulm University and the University Hospital Ulm with the focus on:

  • Amyothrophic lateral sclerosis

  • Motor system diseases

  • Dementia / Alzheimer

  • Epilepsy

  • Huntington's disease

  • Multiple Sclerosis

  • Inflammatory CNS diseases

  • Parkinson's syndromes

  • Movement disorders

  • Stroke diseases

High practical part through internships of several weeks in external laboratories and clinics as well as in the industry (national and international)

Practical training in product development

 

Excellent supervision

  • Small, manageable student groups (max. 20 students) and personal contact with lecturers and experts from industry

  • Mentoring program for students with prior education outside the laboratory

  • Direct contact to scientists and contact persons in academia, industry and business

For whom is the study program suitable?

The program is suitable for graduates of bachelor's degree programs in the life sciences: Biology, Biochemistry, Molecular Medicine, Physiological Chemistry, Neurobiology, Biopsychology, Human Biology, Molecular Life Sciences, or another program with essentially the same content.

Graduates of human medicine (state examination) may also apply.

What are my future career prospects?

Graduates of the program are qualified for a variety of attractive jobs in biomedical research institutes:

  • in basic research
  • in the fields of disease diagnostics, molecular analytical methods, pharmaceutical development, animal replacement research, animal models for neurological and psychiatric human diseases
  • in clinical laboratories
  • in the pharmaceutical and life science industries/biotechnology

Intensive contacts to pharmaceutical companies and laboratories are established already during the studies.

Can I do a PhD afterwards?

Our Master's program is closely linked to the international PhD program in Molecular Medicine. Graduates can do their PhD in the Graduate School of Molecular Medicine at the University of Ulm (IGradU), in research groups at the University of Ulm or at other universities in Germany and abroad.

Study structure

The program comprises four semesters of standard study time and concludes with the Master of Science degree. In the case of a Master's thesis in the laboratory, the study time can also be extended to five semesters (2.5 years).

The study plan provides information on the structure of the course. There are compulsory and elective modules. You must achieve a minimum of 120 credit points (ECTS) to graduate. You can acquire 30 credit points in each semester.

Studyplan   Curriculum

At the beginning of the program, introductory basic courses teach the cellular and molecular processes in the nervous system that can lead to disease. The theoretical, methodological and practical basic knowledge is then applied to potential new diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and clinical applications. The focus is on understanding and researching molecular mechanisms and neurological and psychiatric diseases with the aim of improving diagnostics and developing drugs and therapeutic procedures against the diseases, in addition to basic research.

The pharmaceutical industry partner Boehringer Ingelheim is closely associated with the program and shows the way from basic research to therapeutics developments.
The syllabus is taught in lectures and seminars, but students also complete at least two 1-week and three 4-week laboratory internships. These, as well as the 6-month master's thesis, can be completed in preclinical, clinical and biological institutes at the University of Ulm, at the University Hospital Ulm, at external institutes and research facilities in Germany and abroad, as well as at Boehringer Ingelheim.

Consulting

Do you have questions about the Molecular and Translational Neuroscience program? Contact us, we will be happy to advise you.

FAQ

Yes. In this case, please submit proof of all your grades obtained so far.

No, in this case we only need proof that you completed your first degree in English.

Yes, as long as your first degree is from the field of "life sciences". A selection committee will consider whether you are eligible for the master's program based on the coursework and grades you have completed, as well as the other documents you have submitted. Thus, not only study programs such as Biology, Biochemistry, Molecular Medicine, Human Medicine can fulfill the prerequisite, but also studies with essentially the same teaching content.

The selection process consists of two stages. First, the application documents you submit will be reviewed in terms of form and content. Applicants who are suitable for the program will be invited to a selection interview. This can take place in person at the University of Ulm or - if this is not possible - online. Details will be announced in the invitation letter that you will receive via e-mail. The selection interviews in English will take place between July 5 and June 9, 2021.

Applicants will be informed by e-mail no later than July 15 whether they have been admitted or rejected.

There are administrative fees of around €170 per semester, but this amount may vary by a few euros each semester. Non-EU citizens must also pay international tuition fees of €1,500 per semester. More information can be found at this link:
Tuition fees

Unfortunately, the Master - Molecular and Translational Neuroscience program does not have the possibility to offer scholarships. However, funding opportunities for national and international students can be found on the websites of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and comparable institutions.

Advisory service

Organisation

Application and admission

"Molecular and Translational Neuroscience bedeutet..."

... Entstehung und Entwicklung von Krankheiten besser zu verstehen, Diagnosen und Therapien zu optimieren."

Studium Molekulare und Translationale Neurowissenschaften MTN: Für Exzellenz in Diagnostik und Therapie

MTN ist ein forschungsorientierter Master-Studiengang, der den Studierenden eine hoch qualifizierte Ausbildung im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung wie auch der klinischen und therapeutisch-orientierten Neurowissenschaften bietet. Ziel der Molekularen und Translationalen Neurowissenschaften ist es, die Diagnostik bei und die Therapie von neurologischen und psychiatrischen Erkrankungen zu verbessern. Neurologische und psychiatrische Erkrankungen sind beispielsweise Multiple Sklerose, Hirnhautentzündungen, Schlaganfall, Depression, Schizophrenie und ADS/ADHS oder typische neurologische Alterskrankheiten wie Demenz und Parkinson. Sie verursachen massive Einschränkungen der Lebensqualität der Patientinnen und Patienten, teils bis zum völligen Verlust der eigenständigen Lebensführung.

Bestehende Therapieverfahren sind oft nicht ausreichend wirksam, weil die zugrundeliegenden Pathomechanismen noch nicht geklärt sind. Daher setzen sich die translationalen Neurowissenschaften die Aufgabe, physiologische und pathophysiologische Mechanismen bei der Anpassung und Homöostase des Nervensystems zu erforschen.

Molekulare neurobiologische Fragestellungen erhalten eine Brückenfunktion zwischen zellulärer und pharmakologischer Grundlagenforschung, molekularer Neurologie, Verhaltensphysiologie und diagnostischer und pharmakologischer Anwendung. Die Ergebnisse werden in präzise Ansätze zu innovativen Therapien und der Prophylaxe umgesetzt.

Art des Studiums
Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Studienbeginn
zum Wintersemester: 1. Oktober

Unterrichtssprache
Englisch

Credit Points
120 ETCS

Regelstudienzeit
4 Semester

HIGHLIGHTS

Innovatives Ausbildungsprofil

  • „Basic Research to Product“: Von den molekularen Grundlagen zum Medikament

  • Clinical trials: Ausführung klinischer Studien durch das Klinische Studienzentrum der Klinik Neurologie

  • Vielfältiges Wahlfachangebot in Abstimmung mit individuellen Schwerpunkten

  • Enge Kooperation mit dem Pharmaindustriepartner Boehringer Ingelheim: Vorlesungsreihe/Seminare durch Experten der Boehringer Ingelheim CNS Diseases Research

  • Interdisziplinäre Ausbildung im internationalen Umfeld

Praxisbezogene Lehre

  • Ausbildung in den modernen Laboren der Universität Ulm und des Universitätsklinikums Ulm mit den Schwerpunkten:
    - Amyothrophe Lateralsklerose
    - Motorische Systemerkrankungen
    - Demenz / Alzheimer
    - Epilepsie
    - Morbus Huntington
    - Multiple Sklerose
    - Entzündliche ZNS-Erkrankungen
    - Parkinsonsyndrome
    - Bewegungsstörungen
    - Schlaganfall-Erkrankungen

  • Hoher Praxisanteil durch mehrwöchige Praktika in externen Laboren und Kliniken sowie in der Industrie (national und international)

  • Praktische Einarbeitung in die Produktentwicklung

 

Exzellente Betreuung

  • Kleine, überschaubare Studierendengruppen (max. 20 Studierende) und persönlicher Kontakt zu Lehrenden und ExpertInnen aus der Industrie

  • Mentoring-Programm für Studierende mit laborferner Vorausbildung

  • Direkter Kontakt zu WissenschaftlerInnen und AnsprechpartnerInnen in Akademia, Industrie und Wirtschaft

Für wen ist der Studiengang geeignet?

Der Studiengang eignet sich für Absolventinnen und Absolventen von Bachelorstudiengängen aus dem Bereich der Lebenswissenschaften: Biologie, Biochemie, Molekulare Medizin, Pharmazeutische Biotechnologie, Physiologische Chemie, Neurobiologie, Biopsychologie, Humanbiologie, Molekulare Lebenswissenschaften oder einem anderen Studiengang mit im Wesentlichen gleichem Inhalt.

Auch Absolventinnen und Absolventen der Humanmedizin (Staatsexamen) können sich bewerben.

Welche Berufsaussichten habe ich?

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Studiengangs sind qualifiziert für vielfältige, attraktive Beschäftigungen in biomedizinischen Forschungsinstituten:

  • in der Grundlagenforschung
  • in den Bereichen Krankheitsdiagnostik, molekulare Analyseverfahren, Pharmakaentwicklung, Tierersatzforschung, Tiermodelle für neurologische und psychiatrische Erkrankungen des Menschen
  • in Kliniklaboren
  • in der Pharma- und Life-Science-Industrie/Biotechnologie

Bereits im Studium werden intensive Kontakte zu Pharmaunternehmen und Laboren geknüpft.

Kann ich anschließend promovieren?

Unser Masterprogramm ist eng mit dem internationalen Doktorandenprogramm in Molekularer Medizin verbunden. Die Absoventinnen und Absolventen können ihre Promotion in der Graduiertenschule Molekulare Medizin der Universität Ulm (IGradU), in Arbeitsgruppen an der Universität Ulm oder anderen Universitäten im In- und Ausland durchführen.

Studienaufbau

Der Studiengang umfasst vier Semester Regelstudienzeit und schließt mit dem Master of Science ab. Bei einer Masterarbeit im Labor kann sich die Studienzeit auch auf fünf Semester (2,5 Jahre) verlängern.

Der Studienplan gibt Auskunft über den Studienaufbau. Es gibt Pflicht- und Wahlmodule. Sie müssen den Mindestumfang von 120 Leistungspunkten (ECTS) erreichen, um den Abschluss zu erlangen. Dabei können Sie in jedem Semester 30 Leistungspunkte erwerben.

Studienplan   Curriculum

Zu Beginn des Studiums werden in einführenden Grundlagenveranstaltungen die zellulären und molekularen Prozesse im Nervensystem, die zu Krankheiten führen können, gelehrt. Das theoretische, methodische und praktische Basiswissen wird dann auf mögliche neue diagnostische und therapeutische Verfahren und klinische Anwendungen übertragen. Im Zentrum steht das Verstehen und Erforschen molekularer Mechanismen und neurologischer und psychiatrischer Erkrankungen mit dem Ziel, neben der Grundlagenforschung die Diagnostik zu verbessern und Medikamente und therapeutische Verfahren gegen die Erkrankungen zu entwickeln.

Der Pharmaindustriepartner Boehringer Ingelheim ist eng mit dem Programm verbunden und zeigt den Weg von der Grundlagenforschung zu Therapeutika-Entwicklungen auf.

Der Lehrstoff wird in Vorlesungen und Seminaren vermittelt, die Studierenden absolvieren aber auch mindestens zwei 1-wöchige sowie drei 4-wöchige Laborpraktika. Diese können Sie ebenso wie die 6-monatige Masterarbeit in präklinischen, klinischen und biologischen Instituten an der Universität Ulm, am Universitätsklinikum Ulm, an externen Instituten und Forschungseinrichtungen im In- und Ausland wie auch bei Boehringer Ingelheim absolvieren.

Beratung

Sie haben Fragen zum Studiengang Molekulare und Translationale Neurowissenschaften? Sprechen Sie uns an, wir beraten Sie gern.

FAQ

  • Kann ich mich bewerben, obwohl ich mein Bachelor-Zeugnis noch nicht erhalten habe?

    Ja. Reichen Sie in diesem Fall bitte den Nachweis über alle Ihre bisher erworbenen Noten ein.

  • Ich habe mein Bachelor-Studium in englischer Sprache absolviert. Muss ich trotzdem einen Englischtest machen?

    Nein, in diesem Fall benötigen wir nur den Nachweis, dass Sie Ihr erstes Studium auf Englisch abgeschlossen haben.

  • Ich habe ein Fach studiert, das nichts mit Neurowissenschaften zu tun hat. Kann ich mich bewerben?

    Ja, sofern Ihr Erststudium aus dem Bereich der „Lebenswissenschaften“ stammt. Hier prüft der Auswahlausschuss anhand der von Ihnen absolvierten Lehrinhalte und Noten sowie der weiteren eingereichten Unterlagen, ob Sie für das Masterstudium in Frage kommen. Es können also nicht nur Studiengänge wie Biologie, Biochemie, Molekulare Medizin, Humanmedizin, Pharmazeutische Biotechnologie die Voraussetzung erfüllen, sondern auch ein Studium mit im Wesentlichen gleichen Lehrinhalten.

  • Wann und wo finden die Auswahlgespräche statt?

    Das Auswahlverfahren besteht aus zwei Stufen. Zunächst werden die von Ihnen eingereichten Bewerbungsunterlagen formal und inhaltlich geprüft. Die für den Studiengang geeigneten Bewerber werden zu einem Auswahlgespräch eingeladen. Dieses kann in Präsenz an der Universität Ulm oder – falls dies nicht möglich ist – online stattfinden. Details werden im Einladungsschreiben per E-Mail bekannt gegeben. Die Auswahlgespräche in englischer Sprache erfolgen zwischen dem 15.- 30. Juni.

  • Wann erhalte ich die Zusage oder eine Absage des Studienplatzes?

    Die Bewerber werden per E-Mail bis spätestens zum 15. Juli darüber informiert, ob sie zugelassen oder abgelehnt wurden.

  • Wie hoch sind die Studiengebühren?

    Pro Semester fallen Verwaltungsgebühren in Höhe von rund 170,- € an, dieser Betrag schwankt aber jedes Semester um wenige Euro. Nicht-EU-Bürger müssen zusätzlich internationale Studiengebühren in Höhe von 1.500,- € pro Semester entrichten. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter diesem Link:
    www.uni-ulm.de/en/study/organisation/tuition-fees/
     

     

  • Werden Stipendien für den Studiengang angeboten?

    Der Studiengang Master - Molecular and Translational Neuroscience hat leider keine Möglichkeit, Stipendien zu vergeben. Fördermöglichkeiten für inländische und ausländische Studierende finden Sie aber auf den Internetseiten des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) und vergleichbarer Einrichtungen.

     

Beratung

Organisation

Julia Solar

Julia Solar
Julia Solar
Coordination Office Molecular and Translational Neuroscience
Pavillon II, Raum 24, Albert-Einstein-Allee 7, 89081 Ulm

Bewerbung und Zulassung