Support for Students and Researchers affected by the War in Ukraine

Information on Entry and Residence

The website of the National Academic Contact Point of the DAAD bundles information for Ukrainian students and researchers on residence, university admission, studies and research, and everyday life in Germany. It is available in German and English, the Ukrainian language version is constantly being expanded. For Ukrainian students, the website is intended to serve as a guide to the German higher education system.

Click here for details (EN)

Click here for the website in Ukrainian

The Federal Ministry of the Interior and Community provides information about current entry and residence regulations for persons from Ukraine.

Click here for details

The city of Ulm provides comprehensive information on its website about registration, social benefits, housing and other topics for Ukrainian refugees.

Click here for the website

Until further notice, Ukrainian refugees can use all local trains (S-Bahn, Regionalbahn, Regionalexpress, etc.) as well as all subways, streetcars, light rail and buses of the public transport system (ÖPNV) in Germany free of charge. This also applies to long-distance trains operated by Deutsche Bahn.

For details on these regulations, please refer to the following websites:

Press Release of the Association of German Transport Companies (in German)

Deutschen Bahn Website "Help Ukraine"

Support for Students and Doctoral Researchers from Ukraine

Students from Ukraine who have a residence title according to § 24 of the Residence Act and who take up studies in Baden-Württemberg are exempt from the obligation to pay tuition fees for international students (§ 5 paragraph 1 number 5 Landeshochschulgebührengesetz - LHGebG), starting with the summer semester 2022.

This includes Ukrainian nationals, stateless persons, or nationals of third countries other than Ukraine who have enjoyed international protection or equivalent national protection in Ukraine prior to February 24, 2022, and are unable to return safely and permanently to their country or region of origin.

Students from Ukraine with another residence title (especially according to § 16b Residence Act), who are currently subject to tuition fees, can apply for deferral or waiver of tuition fees for the winter semester 2022/23 according to § 7 LHGebG. The prerequisite for deferral and waiver is that the students are unable to pay the tuition fees after taking up their studies through no fault of their own, for example because funding is not available in connection with war and the flight of family members. This must be examined on a case-by-case basis.

To find out more, please visit the Admissions Office website.

As of June 1, 2022, Ukrainian students can receive federal education grants (the so-called BAföG) if they have or have applied for a residence permit according to Section 24 (1) of the Residence Act.

You can apply for BAföG at the Office for Educational Support (BAföG-Amt) at the Studierendenwerk at your university location. They will also advise you free of charge on BAföG.

IMPORTANT: You can only apply for BAföG once you are enrolled in your degree program.
Ukrainian students who continue their studies online at a Ukrainian university cannot receive BAföG. However, there is the possibility of receiving benefits according to SGB II. The same applies to refugees who are enrolled as exchange or module students.

Further information can be found on the BAföG website (only available in German).

Ulm University provides emergency financial aid for students in need from DAAD funds. Students of Ulm University who are affected by the war in Ukraine can apply at any time.
Click here for the online application

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) administers the scholarship programme “Hilde Domin Programme” with funds from the Federal Foreign Office (AA). The programme serves to support students and doctoral candidates from across the globe, who are at risk of being formally or de facto denied educational or other rights in their country of origin, and to provide these students and doctoral candidates with an opportunity to begin or complete a study or research degree at a higher education institution in Germany.

The deadline for nominations of candidates with programme start dates in the 2023/2024 winter semester is September 15, 2022.

For questions about the programme and applications from Ulm University, please contact Daniela Englisch (International Office).

The Psychotherapeutic University Clinic at Ulm University offers therapy options, for example for trauma treatment.

The Psychosocial Counseling (PBS) of Studierendenwerk Ulm offers individual counseling to affected students. Click here to make an appointment by email.

If you are already studying and your studies are presenting you with particular challenges due to the war in Ukraine, the central student advisory service and the course advisory service can help you organize and manage your studies.

The central student advisory service is the first point of contact for all questions related to choosing and pursuing a course of study. The central student advisory service supports students during the transitional period between school and studies, as well as between studies and career, and during the difficult phases of your studies.

Learn more here

The course advisory service helps with questions concerning the content of the subject (structure and content) and is responsible for questions with a predominatly subject specific reference.

You can find your contact person here

Study opportunities at Ulm University

If Ukrainian refugees meet the entrance requirements for an admission-free bachelor's programme, i.e. if they have direct access to higher education in Germany (for rough orientation: school-leaving certificates up to 2011 with 10 years of school education + 2 successful years of study, school-leaving certificates from 2012 with 11 years of school education + 1 successful year of study, proof of a 4-year higher education degree), Ukrainian refugees can take up or continue their studies at Ulm University as of now.

Entry into higher semesters is possible in every degree programme. The language of instruction is German. The required certificate of language proficiency must be submitted by the time of enrolment.

Ulm University offers bachelor’s programmes with restricted admission only in the winter semester. Applications are possible until 15 July 2022. Admission is in the special quota for non-EU nationals.
Ulm University offers bachelor’s programmes with restricted admission in Biochemistry, Biology, Molecular Medicine, Psychology as well as Economics (Teacher Education). Special quotas for non-EU nationals are regularly underused; it would be worth applying for them.

Applications for studies in Medicine and Dentistry for the first semester are made via uni-assist.

This also applies to applications for all bachelor's programmes in the first semester.

Applications for higher semesters in Medicine and Dentistry must be directed to Ulm University. Applications for the winter semester are possible until 15 July 2022. The language of instruction in the medical programmes is German. The required certificate of language proficiency must be submitted by the time of enrolment.

If the requirements for a master's programme with unrestricted admission are met (equivalent bachelor's degree), Ulm University offers the possibility of taking up a master's programme in the first or a higher semester already in the upcoming summer semester. Lectures start on 19 April 2022; the language of instruction is in part German; the master’s programmes at Ulm University taught in English are listed here.

The University is checking whether Ukrainian applicants can take up studies in admission-restricted bachelor's and master's programmes (outside Medicine) with immediate effect if the legal requirements are met.


For all these questions, the admissions office offers counselling for applicants and students. Contact person: Rosa-Anna Puccia-Gammaro.

In addition, Ulm University now grants temporary student status to refugee Ukrainian students who already took up studies in Ukraine - irrespective of whether they fully meet the entrance requirements for an undergraduate degree - and thus enables them to attend classes at the University, even if these may only be individual courses taught in English.
This applies to admission to a higher semester in bachelor's programmes as well as in master's programmes after consultation with the subject coordinators and regardless of admission numbers. Certificates attesting any achievements will be issued upon completion of these temporary studies. The University is currently examining whether this possibility also exists for Ukrainian students who are interested in medical programmes. The costs of enrolment can be reduced.

Please note that under the current legal situation, this regulation only applies to Ukrainian refugee students and refugees who previously studied in Ukraine. This group of people is also financially secured and receives benefits under the asylum seekers' benefits act (Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz) for the first 18 months if they have a residence permit under Section 24 of the Residence Act.
For refugee students who do not have Ukrainian citizenship or did not have a permanent right to stay in Ukraine, the legal situation is currently still unclear; however, these persons can continue their studies in Germany at any time under the applicable conditions (tuition fees, admission requirements). For further information please go to this website.

Refugee Ukrainian students who want to take up studies in Germany but cannot directly enter undergraduate programmes can enrol in the language and cultural preparation programme "FOKuS - Studienstart Deutsch" for study preparation at the University free of tuition fees. Prerequisite for participation is a knowledge of German at least on an A2 level.

Applications for the intensive language course B1 (September-October 2022) and for the B2 and DSH courses (winter semester 2022/2023) are possible until 15.07.2022.

Here you can find more information about the programme (incl. application)

Furthermore, the University also enrols foreign students for temporary research stays, provided that the legal requirements are met.

Support for Researchers from Ukraine

Since 2016, the Philipp Schwartz Initiative has enabled German universities and research institutions to host foreign scientists who are threatened by war or persecution in their home countries for two years.

The call for applications in the 11th round is closed. The next call date is yet to be announced.

Click here for the website of the Philipp Schwartz Initiative

The Philipp Schwartz Emergency Fund enables an immediate aid program within the framework of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation's Philipp Schwartz Initiative. This enables universities and research institutions in Germany to host refugee researchers from Ukraine for up to six months. During the short-term fellowship, living expenses can be covered and longer-term follow-up sponsorship can be initiated. The endowments of 500,000 euros from the Carl Zeiss Foundation and 250,000 euros from the scientific publishing group Springer Nature will support around 40 female scientists and their families.

Click here for the press statement of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (March 31, 2022)

For questions regarding the program and applications from Ulm University, please contact Daniel Kanzleiter (Abt. II-3 International Office).

The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) supports researchers who have fled their home countries by making it easier for them to join research projects and apply for funding under the Walter Benjamin Programme.

The following requirements must be met in principle:

  • The person has not been outside their home country for more than three years at the time of application and
  • they have residential status in connection with an asylum procedure within the EU and are recognised as being at risk, or
  • in lieu of proof of residency status, they are able to present credible third-party evidence of being at risk no more than 12 months prior to application, e.g. documentation provided by the Scholars at Risk Network (SAR) or Council for At-Risk Academics (CARA).

This way, the DFG also underlines its solidarity with researchers from Ukraine and Russia who had to flee their home country due to the current war situation triggered by the Russian attack. By integrating them swiftly in the German research system, the aim is to enable them to maintain continuity in their academic work.

In acute crisis situations, proposals can be submitted without proof of the respective status after consultation with the DFG.

Individuals are only eligible for sponsorship if they have not previously been sponsored through the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s Philipp Schwartz Initiative and the Federal Foreign Office or under any comparable programme for integration in the academic system.

For questions regarding the program and applications from Ulm University, please contact Daniel Kanzleiter (Abt. II-3 International Office).

The Volkswagen Foundation would like to support Ukrainian researchers with a targeted funding offer to continue their scientific work temporarily in Germany.

The funding offer is aimed at Ukrainian scientists who have already fled to Germany after the Russian invasion of their country or who will arrive in Germany in the coming weeks.

It offers doctoral students, postdocs and established scientists from all disciplines the opportunity to continue their work in a research group at a university or research institute in Germany for a period of 6-12 months. Applications must be submitted jointly by the university management and the host scientists in Germany.

For questions regarding the program and applications from Ulm University, please contact Daniel Kanzleiter (Abt. II-3 International Office).

The Baden-Württemberg Fund for Persecuted Scholars provides scholarships for at-risk scholars to continue their research at universities and research institutions in Baden-Württemberg.

Applications are accepted throughout the year and can be submitted directly to the IIE Scholar Rescue Fund (IIE-SRF).

The Vector Foundation would like to support scientists who are forced to leave Ukraine to continue their scientific activities at a host institution in Baden-Württemberg on a transitional basis.

For this purpose, the Vector Foundation provides funding to universities and research institutions in Baden-Württemberg to employ refugees with Ukrainian citizenship and completed studies in existing research groups and projects for a limited period of time (6-12 months).

Details on the emergency program can be found on the Vector Foundation website (in German) and in the program documents (PDF) (also in German).

For questions about the program and applications from Ulm University, please contact Daniel Kanzleiter (International Office).

Current job advertisements for academic staff can be found on the Human Resources Department website.

#ScienceForUkraine collects and publishes support opportunities from scientific institutions worldwide for students and researchers affected by the war in Ukraine. Click here for the interactive world map.

EURAXESS, the European information portal for researchers, has launched a dedicated section for researchers from Ukraine as part of the ERA4Ukraine initiative. The new website provides an overview of European and national support services for refugee researchers.

The focus is on practical assistance, recognition of degrees and employment and funding opportunities for researchers coming from Ukraine. Around 20 EU and associated countries/association candidates have already compiled country-specific information, including Germany. The information on the ERA4Ukraine portal will also be made available in Ukrainian in the near future.

Click here for the ERA4Ukraine website

Get Active!

The Flüchtlingsrat Ulm/Alb-Donau-Kreis publishes a continuously updated orientation guide for helpers and refugees from Ukraine on its website (in German).

engagiert in ulm arranges help for refugees from Ukraine. Organizations and volunteers can register as helpers on the website and make offers of help (translations, donations in kind, donations of time, offers of living space, etc.).

menschlichkeit-ulm is an initiative that, among other things, is committed to helping Ukrainian refugees and is supported by Ulm University as part of the DAAD Welcome Program.

If you would like to help Ukrainian refugees and make a donation, you can find an overview of reputable aid organizations on the website of the Deutsches Zentralinstitut für soziale Fragen (DZI) (in German).

Website will be continuously updated

Further support services and offers will be added constantly.

If you have any questions or suggestions for additions, please get in touch with the International Office.

Last update: June 27, 2022

Contact

Daniel Kanzleiter
International Office
Helmholtzstraße 22
89081 Ulm

E-Mail

Consultation by phone/Zoom by appointment.

Krieg in der Ukraine: Unterstützung für Studierende und Forschende

Aktuelle Informationen zu Einreise und Aufenthalt

Die Webseite der Nationalen Akademischen Kontaktstelle des DAAD bündelt für ukrainische Studierende und Forschende Informationen zum Aufenthalt, Hochschulzugang, Studium und Forschung und zum Alltagsleben in Deutschland. Sie ist durchgängig in Deutsch und Englisch verfügbar, die ukrainische Sprachfassung wird laufend erweitert. Für ukrainische Studierende soll die Webseite als Wegweiser ins deutsche Hochschulsystem dienen. 

Hier geht es zur Website

Hier geht es zur Website auf Ukrainisch

Das Bundesministerium des Innern und für Heimat informiert auf seiner Homepage über aktuelle Einreise- und aufenthaltsrechtliche Bestimmungen für Personen aus der Ukraine.

Hier geht es zur Website

Die Stadt Ulm informiert auf ihrer Website umfassend über Registrierung, Sozialleistungen, Wohnen und weitere Themen für ukrainische Geflüchtete.

Hier geht es zur Website

Ukrainische Geflüchtete können bis auf Weiteres kostenlos alle Nahverkehrszüge (S-Bahn, Regionalbahn, Regionalexpress, etc.) sowie alle U-, Straßen-, Stadtbahnen und Busse des Öffentlichen Personennahverkehrs (ÖPNV) in Deutschland nutzen. Dies gilt auch für Fernverkehrszüge der Deutschen Bahn.

Details zu diesen Regelungen entnehmen Sie bitte den folgenden Websites:

Pressemitteilung des Verbands Deutscher Verkehrsunternehmen

Informationen der Deutschen Bahn

Unterstützung für Studierende und Promovierende aus der Ukraine

Studierende aus der Ukraine, die einen Aufenthaltstitel nach § 24 Aufenthaltsgesetz haben und ein Studium in Baden-Württemberg aufnehmen, sind von der Studiengebührenpflicht für Internationale Studierende ausgenommen (§ 5 Absatz 1 Nummer 5 Landeshochschulgebührengesetz - LHGebG), beginnend mit dem Sommersemester 2022.

Dazu gehören ukrainische Staatsangehörige, Staatenlose oder Staatsangehörige anderer Drittländer als der Ukraine, die vor dem 24. Februar 2022 in der Ukraine internationalen Schutz oder einen gleichwertigen nationalen Schutz genossen haben und nicht in der Lage sind, sicher und dauerhaft in ihr Herkunftsland oder ihre Herkunftsregion zurückzukehren.

Studierende aus der Ukraine mit einem anderen Aufenthaltstitel (insbesondere nach § 16b Aufenthaltsgesetz), die derzeit gebührenpflichtig sind, können zum Wintersemester 2022/23 nach § 7 LHGebG auf Stundung oder Erlass der Internationalen Studiengebühren stellen. Voraussetzung für Stundung und Erlass ist, dass die Studierenden nach Aufnahme des Studiums unverschuldet nicht in der Lage sind, die Studiengebühren zu bezahlen, weil etwa die Finanzierung im Zusammenhang mit Krieg und Flucht Familienangehöriger ausfällt. Dies ist im Einzelfall zu prüfen.

Mehr erfahren Sie auf der Website der Zulassungsabteilung.

Die Universität Ulm stellt aus Mitteln des DAAD finanzielle Nothilfen für notleidende Studierende zur Verfügung. Studierende der Universität Ulm, die vom Krieg in der Ukraine betroffen sind, können sich jederzeit bewerben.
Hier geht es zur Online-Bewerbung

 

Der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) bietet aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes (AA) das Hilde Domin-Programm an. Das Programm soll weltweit gefährdete Studierende sowie Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, denen in ihrem Herkunftsland formal oder de facto das Recht auf Bildung verweigert wird, darin unterstützen, ein Studium in Deutschland aufzunehmen oder fortzusetzen, um einen Studien- oder Promotionsabschluss an einer deutschen Hochschule zu erlangen.

Die Frist für Nominierungen von Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten mit Programmbeginn zum Wintersemester 2023/2024 endet am 15. September 2022.

Bei Fragen zum Programm und zu Bewerbungen von der Universität Ulm wenden Sie sich bitte an Daniela Englisch (Abt. II-3 International Office).

Die Psychotherapeutische Hochschulambulanz der Universität Ulm bietet Therapiemöglichkeiten, zum Beispiel zur Traumabehandlung.

Die Psychosoziale Beratungsstelle (PBS) des Studierendenwerks Ulm bietet betroffenen Studierenden eine individuelle Beratung an. Hier geht es zur Terminvereinbarung per E-Mail.

Wenn Sie sich bereits im Studium befinden und Sie das Studium aufgrund des Kriegs in der Ukraine vor besondere Herausforderungen stellt, helfen Ihnen die Zentrale Studienberatung sowie die Studienfachberatung bei der Organisation und der Bewältigung Ihres Studiums weiter.

Die Zentrale Studienberatung ist die erste Anlaufstelle für alle Fragen, die im Zusammenhang mit der Wahl und der Durchführung eines Studiums stehen. Die Zentrale Studienberatung unterstützt Studierende sowohl in der Übergangszeit zwischen Schule und Studium, als auch zwischen Studium und Beruf und in den schwierigen Phasen Ihres Studiums.

Hier erfahren Sie mehr

Die Studienfachberatung hilft bei inhaltlichen Fragen des Studienfaches (Struktur und Inhalte) und ist zuständig bei Fragen mit überwiegend fachspezifischem Bezug.

Hier finden Sie Ihren Ansprechpartner

Studienmöglichkeiten an der Universität Ulm

Sofern für ukrainische Geflüchtete die Zugangsvoraussetzungen für ein zulassungsfreies Bachelorstudium vorliegen, diese also einen direkten Hochschulzugang in Deutschland haben (zur groben Orientierung: bei Zeugnissen bis 2011 mit 10-jähriger Schulbildung + 2 erfolgreichen Studienjahren, bei Zeugnissen ab 2012 mit 11-jähriger Schulbildung + 1 erfolgreiches Studienjahr, bei Nachweis eines 4-jährigen Hochschulabschlusses) können ukrainische Geflüchtete ab sofort, auch bereits im Sommersemester 2022, ein Studium an der Universität Ulm aufnehmen bzw. ein solches fortsetzen. Im Sommersemester werden für das erste Fachsemester die Studiengänge Informatik, Medieninformatik, Software Engineering, Mathematik, Wirtschaftsmathematik angeboten; ein Einstieg in höhere Fachsemester ist in jedes Studium möglich. Das Studium beginnt am 19.04.2022; die Unterrichtssprache ist Deutsch. Der erforderliche Sprachnachweis muss zur Einschreibung vorliegen.

Zulassungsbeschränkte Bachelorstudiengänge werden nur im Wintersemester an der Universität Ulm angeboten. Eine Bewerbung ist bis zum 15.07.2022 möglich. Eine Zulassung erfolgt in der Sonderquote für Nicht EU-Ausländer.
Zulassungsbeschränkte Bachelorstudiengänge an der Uni Ulm sind Biochemie, Biologie, Molekulare Medizin, Psychologie und Wirtschaftswissenschaften Lehramt. Sonderquoten für Nicht EU-Ausländer werden regelmäßig nicht ausgeschöpft; eine Bewerbung darauf könnte sich lohnen.

Bewerbungen für ein Studium der Medizin und Zahnmedizin für das erste Fachsemester erfolgen über uni-assist.

Dies gilt auch für Bewerbungen für alle Bachelor-Studiengänge im 1. Fachsemester.

Bewerbungen für höhere Fachsemester in der Medizin und Zahnmedizin sind an die Universität Ulm zu richten. Bewerbungen sind für das Wintersemester bis zum 15.07.2022 möglich. Unterrichtssprache in den medizinischen Studiengängen ist Deutsch. Der erforderliche Sprachnachweis muss zur Einschreibung vorliegen.

Sofern die Voraussetzungen für ein zulassungsfreies Masterstudium vorliegen (gleichwertiger Bachelorabschluss), bietet die Universität Ulm bereits für das bevorstehende Sommersemester die Möglichkeit an, ein Masterstudium für das erste bzw. für ein höheres Fachsemester aufzunehmen. Das Studium beginnt am 19.04.2022; die Unterrichtssprache ist teilweise Englisch; die englischsprachigen Masterstudiengänge der Universität sind hier aufgelistet unter .

Die Universität prüft, inwieweit bei Vorliegen der rechtlichen Voraussetzungen ukrainische Studienbewerberinnen und Bewerber ab sofort ein Studium in zulassungsbeschränkten Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen (außerhalb der Medizin) aufnehmen können.
 

Für all diese Fragen bietet die Zulassungsabteilung Beratung für Studienbewerberinnen und Bewerber sowie für Studierende an. Ansprechpartnerin ist Frau Rosa-Anna Puccia-Gammaro.

Darüber hinaus spricht die Universität Ulm ab sofort geflüchteten ukrainischen Studierenden, die bereits ein Studium in der Ukraine aufgenommen haben - unabhängig davon, ob sie die Zugangsvoraussetzungen für ein grundständiges Studium umfänglich erfüllen - einen befristeten Studierendenstatus zu und ermöglicht ihnen so die Teilnahme am universitären Unterricht ggf. auch bezogen auf nur einzelne spezifische Lehrveranstaltungen in Englisch.
Das gilt sowohl für die Aufnahme in ein höheres Fachsemester in Bachelorstudiengänge als auch in Masterstudiengänge nach Rücksprache mit den Fächern und unabhängig von Zulassungszahlen. Bei einer Beendigung dieses befristeten Studiums werden Nachweis über ggf. erbrachte Leistungen ausgestellt. Die Universität prüft derzeit, ob diese Möglichkeit auch für ukrainische Studierende besteht, die sich für medizinische Studiengänge interessieren. Die für die Immatrikulation fälligen Kosten können reduziert werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Regelung nach derzeitiger Rechtslage nur für geflüchtete ukrainische Studierende und geflüchtete Personen, die bisher in der Ukraine studiert haben, gilt. Dieser Personenkreis ist auch finanziell abgesichert und erhält während der ersten 18 Monate Leistungen nach dem Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz, wenn sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach § 24 AufenthG haben. Für geflüchtete Studierende, die keine ukrainische Staatsangehörigkeit haben bzw. kein dauerhaftes Bleiberecht in der Ukraine hatten, ist die Rechtslage derzeit noch ungeklärt; diese Personen können jedoch jederzeit ihr Studium in Deutschland unter den geltenden Voraussetzungen (Studiengebühren, Zulassungsvoraussetzungen) fortsetzen. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf dieser Website.

Geflüchtete ukrainische Studierende, die in Deutschland ein Studium aufnehmen wollen, aber noch keinen direkten Zugang zu grundständigen Studiengängen haben, können sich ins Propädeutikum FOKuS - Studienstart Deutsch zur Studienvorbereitung an der Universität studiengebührenfrei immatrikulieren; die Universität prüft derzeit, ob auch Deutschsprachkurse auf Anfängerniveau eingerichtet werden können.

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zum Vorbereitungsprogramm

Im Übrigen immatrikuliert die Universität auch zeitlich befristet ausländische Studierende zu vorübergehenden Forschungsaufenthalten, sofern die rechtlichen Voraussetzungen vorliegen.

Unterstützung für Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus der Ukraine

Die Philipp Schwartz-Initiative ermöglicht seit 2016 deutschen Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen, ausländische Wissenschaftler*innen, denen in ihren Heimatländern Krieg oder Verfolgung drohen, für zwei Jahre bei sich aufzunehmen.

Die Antragsfrist für die 11. Ausschreibungsrunde ist beendet. Der nächste Ausschreibungstermin wird noch bekanntgegeben.

Zur Website der Philipp Schwartz-Initiative

Der Philipp Schwartz-Notfonds ermöglicht im Rahmen der Philipp Schwartz-Initiative der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung ein Sofort-Hilfsprogramm. Damit können Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland geflüchtete Forschende aus der Ukraine für bis zu sechs Monaten aufnehmen. Während des Kurzzeitstipendiums können so Lebenshaltungskosten gedeckt und längerfristige Folgeförderungen angebahnt werden. Mit den Zustiftungen in Höhe von 500.000 Euro von Seiten der Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung sowie 250.000 Euro von der wissenschaftlichen Verlagsgruppe Springer Nature werden rund 40 Wissenschaftlerinnen inklusive ihrer Familien gefördert werden.

Zur Pressemitteilung der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung vom 31.03.2022

Bei Fragen zum Programm und zu Bewerbungen von der Universität Ulm wenden Sie sich bitte an Daniel Kanzleiter (Abt. II-3 International Office).

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) unterstützt aus ihren Heimatländern geflüchtete Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, indem sie die Mitarbeit in Forschungsprojekten sowie die Antragstellung im Walter Benjamin-Programm erleichtert.

Folgende Voraussetzungen müssen grundsätzlich vorliegen:

  • Die Person hält sich zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung noch nicht länger als drei Jahre außerhalb ihres Heimatlandes auf und
  • es liegt ein aufenthaltsrechtlicher Status im Zusammenhang eines Asylverfahrens innerhalb der EU vor, aus dem eine anerkannte Gefährdung hervorgeht, oder
  • anstelle des Nachweises eines aufenthaltsrechtlichen Status wird ein glaubwürdiger, nicht mehr als 12 Monate vor Antragstellung erstellter Nachweis der Gefährdung von dritter Stelle vorgelegt, z. B. Dokumentation durch das Scholars at Risk Network (SAR) oder den Council for At-Risk Academics (CARA).

Die DFG unterstreicht in der aktuellen Situation auch auf diese Weise ihre Solidarität mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus der Ukraine und Russland, die infolge des russischen Angriffs ihre Heimat verlassen müssen. Diesen soll mit einer kurzfristigen Integration in das deutsche Wissenschaftssystem die Kontinuität ihrer wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit ermöglicht werden.

In der akuten Krisensituation kann der Antrag nach Rücksprache mit der Geschäftsstelle der DFG ausnahmsweise auch ohne Dokumentation eines entsprechenden Status/Nachweises gestellt werden.

Es können nur Personen gefördert werden, die nicht zuvor über die Philipp Schwartz-Initiative der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung und dem Auswärtigen Amt oder durch eine vergleichbare Maßnahme zur Integration in das Wissenschaftssystem gefördert wurden.

Bei Fragen zum Programm und zu Bewerbungen von der Universität Ulm wenden Sie sich bitte an Daniel Kanzleiter (Abt. II-3 International Office).

Die Volkswagenstiftung möchte ukrainische Forschende mit einem gezielten Förderangebot dabei unterstützen, ihre wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit vorübergehend in Deutschland weiterzuführen.

Das Förderangebot richtet sich an ukrainische Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die nach dem russischen Überfall auf ihr Land bereits nach Deutschland geflohen sind oder in den kommenden Wochen in Deutschland eintreffen werden. Es bietet sowohl Promovierenden als auch Postdoktorandinnen und Postdoktoranden sowie etablierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aller Fachrichtungen die Möglichkeit, für einen Zeitraum von 6-12 Monaten in einer Arbeitsgruppe an einer Universität oder einem Forschungsinstitut in Deutschland ihre Forschungstätigkeit fortzusetzen. Die Antragstellung erfolgt gemeinsam durch die Hochschulleitung und die gastgebenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in Deutschland.

Bei Fragen zum Programm und zu Bewerbungen von der Universität Ulm wenden Sie sich bitte an Daniel Kanzleiter (Abt. II-3 International Office).

Der Baden-Württemberg Fonds für verfolgte Wissenschaftler stellt Stipendien für gefährdete Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bereit, um eine wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit an Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Baden-Württemberg fortsetzen zu können. 

Anträge werden ganzjährig akzeptiert und können direkt beim IIE Scholar Rescue Fund (IIE-SRF) gestellt werden.

Die Vector Stiftung möchte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die aufgrund der aktuellen Situation in der Ukraine gezwungen sind, ihr Heimatland zu verlassen, dabei unterstützen, ihre wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit übergangsweise an einer baden-württembergischen Gasteinrichtung fortzusetzen.

Zu diesem Zweck stellt die Vector Stiftung Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen in Baden-Württemberg Fördermittel zur Verfügung, um geflüchtete Personen mit ukrainischer Staatsbürgerschaft und abgeschlossenem Studium über einen begrenzten Zeitraum (6-12 Monate) in bestehenden Arbeitsgruppen und Projekten zu beschäftigen.

Details zur Soforthilfe finden Sie auf der Website der Vector Stiftung sowie in den Programmunterlagen (PDF).

Bei Fragen zum Programm und zu Bewerbungen von der Universität Ulm wenden Sie sich bitte an Daniel Kanzleiter (Abt. II-3 International Office).

Aktuelle Stellenangebote für wissenschaftliches Personal finden Sie auf der Website des Personalservices.

#ScienceForUkraine sammelt und veröffentlicht Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten von wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen weltweit für Studierende und Forschende, die vom Krieg in der Ukraine betroffen sind. Hier geht es zur interaktiven Weltkarte.

EURAXESS, das europäische Informationsportal für Forschende, hat im Rahmen der Initiative ERA4Ukraine eine eigene Sektion für Forschende aus der Ukraine eingerichtet. Die neuen Webseiten bieten einen Überblick über europäische und nationale Unterstützungsangebote für geflüchtete Forschende.

Im Vordergrund stehen praktische Hilfestellungen, die Anerkennung von Abschlüssen sowie Beschäftigungs- und Fördermöglichkeiten für aus der Ukraine kommende Forschende. Etwa 20 EU- und assoziierte Staaten/ Assoziierungsanwärter haben bereits länderspezifische Informationen zusammengestellt, darunter auch Deutschland. Die Informationen auf dem ERA4Ukraine-Portal sollen in Kürze auch auf Ukrainisch zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Hier geht es zu ERA4Ukraine

Selbst aktiv werden

Der Flüchtlingsrat Ulm/Alb-Donau-Kreis veröffentlicht auf seiner Website eine fortlaufend aktualisierte Orientierungshilfe für Helfende und Geflüchtete aus der Ukraine.

Der Verein engagiert in ulm vermittelt Hilfe für geflüchtete Menschen aus der Ukraine. Organisationen und Freiwillige können sich auf der Website als Helferinnen und Helfer registrieren und Hilfsangebote machen (Übersetzungen, Sachspenden, Zeitspenden, Wohnraumangebote, usw.).

menschlichkeit-ulm ist ein Verein, der sich unter anderem für ukrainische Geflüchtete engagiert und seitens der Universität Ulm im Rahmen des Welcome-Programms des DAAD unterstützt.

Wer ukrainischen Geflüchteten helfen und dafür spenden möchte, findet auf der Website des Deutschen Zentralinstituts für soziale Fragen (DZI) eine Übersicht seriöser Hilfsorganisationen.

Website wird fortlaufend aktualisiert

Weitere Unterstützungsangebote werden kontinuierlich ergänzt.

Wenn Sie Fragen oder auch Ergänzungsvorschläge haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an das International Office.

Letztes Update: 16.05.2022

Ansprechpartner

Daniel Kanzleiter
International Office
Helmholtzstraße 22
89081 Ulm

E-Mail

Beratung per Telefon/Zoom nach Vereinbarung.