With screen sharing, you as the organiser or individual participants can transmit the screen and show it to the other participants.
For participants, you can also allow screen sharing during the meeting through sharing options and thus control contributions without having to assign host rights.
In total, screen sharing has three tabs, but only two of them are relevant because file sharing is disabled:
- The sharing selection in Basic mode includes the option to share windows of an application, a whiteboard and various external devices (such as a smartphone). In the bottom bar, you can also optimise sharing for a video clip or audio. The usual selection options for the entire screen or individual application windows are also available. If you want to play a presentation, select the presentation software window and go to presentation mode after sharing, this will show you a presenter view and your audience the presentation.
- In advanced mode, you can also set screen clipping, audio and external camera settings. Provided you have a green screen or a very distraction-free background, you can try the beta version of the background slides, which you incorporate into your slides as ModeratoIn.
To use a suitable display format, you can set views for all participants in the options.
Share entire screen versus share window
Sharing the entire screen is deactivated by default for security reasons. However, as a host you can share individual application windows.
However, you can change this default setting yourself if necessary, e.g. when working with tablets such as the iPad: To do so, please go to your personal Zoom homepage at http://uni-ulm.zoom.com. In the section "Settings / Meeting / In Meeting (Basics)" you will now find the following default setting and adjust it accordingly: Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings you host
Background: When the entire screen is shared, notifications from other programmes can always be displayed on the screen. These could contain, for example, texts of confidential e-mails. Therefore, we recommend that you only share the relevant content (on the desktop, for example, the window of a specific application).
For more information, see the Zoom documentation: